Hi everyone!
I’m preparing to release a new version of my game that will be played online, and there’s one thing I’m a bit worried about.
Since I originally released the game about 1 month ago, many people have played it. The game is also pretty long (10-14 hours), so I’m sure there are players out there who are currently halfway through their playthroughs. The problem is that the new version will not be compatible with the existing save files, meaning those players will lose their current progress. 😬 I really don’t want people to come back to the game, update it, and suddenly discover that their 8-hour save is gone.
At the same time, I’d really prefer not to create a completely new project/page for the new version. I’d hate to lose the existing ratings, collections, followers, etc.
The only thing I can think of is to post a devlog about the project explaining this, and try to get the players to hate me a bit less… What would you do? Any ideas?