You're right - that was a different user. I've modified my post here to reflect that!
The code was identical for all users and was, essentially, an unverified honor system - as you may understand, that meant it had to expire at some point.
Nothing about the move/onboarding was ideal (not least many platforms' shift toward banning adult content...); I did what I considered to be my best given the tools I had. I hope people can understand.

